about

ashbaddour

Welcome. I’m Ashleigh. I live in the Pacific Northwest in a “shack” in the woods near the coast with my Lebanese husband Joey, our daughter Leila who has Down syndrome, our son Beschara whom we call Bescha (bee-sha) for short and Nefret the Pharaoh Hound.

I’m not new to blogging and have been doing it on and off since 2004. It started out as a great way to keep in touch with friends and family while I was away at college overseas. Blogging today still serves that purpose but I also use it to organize my thoughts and to hold myself accountable.

Once upon a time I was an Egyptologist and it was glamorous but in the end it was not meant to be. It was my dream job from a very early age. 6? 7? It was not until fairly recently that I have felt ok about letting it go. That’s not to say I would say “no” if asked to return to the field or if a valid opportunity presented itself. I will probably always be easily seduced by Egypt. But for the time being that adventurous lifestyle is not for me.

I currently keep busy as a domestic engineer and an aspiring minimalist. I am having so much fun purging and trying to whittle down the things in my life so that I’m only left with what’s important and brings joy. I love crafting which usually involves some sort of fiber. I crochet, weave, macrame and sometimes attempt to knit. I have dreams of renovating our small home to make it feel more spacious and up to date. It currently only has 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom and we could seriously use 1 more of each. I dream about doing a little homesteading in our decent sized backyard. I try to stay healthy since I have a compromised immune system: cvid.

This is my life. Enjoy.